The first Folk Americana Roots Hall of Fame induction ceremony for recipients and their families will take place in mid-April 2024. Living and deceased artists, songwriters, record executives, managers and concert promoters tied to elevating folk, Americana and roots music were all eligible.

Celebrating the lifeblood of America’s musical and cultural heritage, the inaugural class of 29 was selected by a designated nomination committee. This committee includes industry experts, whose collective experience reflects an eclectic mix of genres, geography, gender, race, and roles as well as FARHOF’s Board of Directors which consists of artist and industry advisors.

The inaugural class and categories include:

Solo Legacy Artist – A solo legacy artist is a performer whose initial impact on the genre was at least 45 years prior to the year of Induction. 

  • Gordon Lightfoot
  • Jean Ritchie
  • John Prine
  • Johnny Cash
  • Josh White
  • Lead Belly
  • Odetta
  • Oscar Brand
  • Pete Seeger
  • Richie Havens
  • Woody Guthrie

Solo Living Artist  A solo living artist is a contemporary performer whose initial impact on the genre was at least 25 years prior to the year of Induction. 

  • Bonnie Raitt
  • Emmylou Harris
  • James Taylor
  • Joan Baez
  • Joni Mitchell
  • Mavis Staples
  • Ramblin’ Jack Elliott
  • Taj Mahal
  • Willie Nelson

Duo or Group of Musicians  The Duo or Group of Musicians are performers whose initial impact on the genre was at least 25 years prior to the year of Induction. 

  • Peter, Paul & Mary
  • The Band
  • The Byrds
  • The Weavers

Non-Performer – The Non-Performers category includes supporting musicians, songwriters, managers, publishers, historians, producers, etc.

  • Albert Grossman (Former manager to many musicians in the folk music scene.)
  • Betsy Siggins (Founding member of the Club 47 venue now Passim in Boston; assisted in creating the Festival of American Folklife and founder of the New England Folk Music Archives/Folk New England.)
  • George Wein (Jazz promoter, pianist and producer as well as founder of Newport Jazz Festival; co-founder of the Newport Folk Festival and instrumental in the founding of the New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Festival.)

Paul Robeson Artist/Activist Award – To honor the artistry and personal courage that defines these genres, the Paul Robeson Artist/Activist award highlights the musicians, journalists, promoters and record executives who, as activists, have insisted that important social justice movements and human stories are preserved. This award pays tribute to those with the same integrity as Paul Robeson, the epitome of the 20th-century Renaissance man. The combination of his immense artistic talent and his absolute fidelity to his moral compass - regardless of the risks – make him a worthy namesake of this important award.

  • Frank Hamilton – (American folk musician, member of The Weavers and co-founder of Old Town School of Folk Music.)